Winning on the virtual stage

Omicron Iota Chapter honored at annual international convention


Matthew Fular, Staff Writer

The tradition of leadership, service, and fellowship excellence continues for Schoolcraft’s Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society.
On April 17, during the PTK international convention, Schoolcraft’s Omicron Iota Chapter was awarded honors for Distinguished College Project. Schoolcraft was up against 1,200 other Phi Theta Kappa chapters across the country and only 50 chapters were awarded distinctions in the three categories of Distinguished Honors in Action Project, Most Distinguished Chapter, and Distinguished College Project.
Held annually, Phi Theta Kappa Headquarters organizes an international convention where chapters from across the nation gather to see how their chapter projects, members, and officers ranked. Chapters write entries during early January about the projects they completed in the fall and the individuals who were essential in getting them completed. This year, the convention was scheduled to be held in Grapevine, Texas from April 3-5 but was postponed until April 16-17 due to the current world health crisis.
With some time and ingenuity, the convention transitioned to an online platform and live-streamed for the first time ever in the history of the 102-year-old organization. In 2019, Omicron Iota brought home two awards from the international convention — one for Distinguished Honors in Action Project and the other for Most Distinguished Chapter. This year’s honor marks the trifecta for Omicron Iota, completed by taking home the Distinguished Honors in Action Project and Most Distinguished Chapter (2019) and Distinguished College Project (2020).
Other Winning Michigan Chapters
Omicron Iota was not the only one who had success at the international convention. Jackson College’s Alpha Rho Lambda and Grand Rapids Community College’s Alpha Upsilon Kappa were also awarded Distinguished College Project. Several individuals from chapters across Michigan were awarded Distinguished Officer and Member awards. Jackson College’s Alpha Rho Lambda won the Beta Alpha Continued Excellence Award, the highest award earned by any Michigan chapter this year.
Up next
Omicron Iota’s 2019-2020 officer team hopes to end on a high note at the upcoming Michigan regional convention. The submissions for the international convention are also judged at the regional level. In May, Omicron Iota will have another shot at bringing home a few more awards for the trophy case outside of the Student Activities Office.
The 2019-2020 Omicron Iota Officer team includes:
President: Matt Fular
Vice President: Patrick Long
Secretary: Corin Tyler
Vice President of Leadership: Lisa Taylor
Vice President of Scholarship: Obioma Opara
Vice President of Service: Rania Baraka
Image courtesy of